Image Bar

Monday, July 22, 2013

Monday Meditations: Chakra Mantra Meditation

Here's another wonderful guest post- this week by Christine Stump. Enjoy!

I love the idea of cocoon as transformational spaces, incubators for our unfurling lives. Suzanne’s jewelry is such a vibrant, direct expression of the reality and accessibility of this transformation. Chakras are like cocoons for the transformations that occur in various areas of our lives, protected engines of transformation that we can interact with directly through motion, color and imagination.

Chakras are classically described as energy centers, which is how we experience them and how they were conceptualized in systems outside our knowledge of and propensity for physiological explanation, such as in the Upanishads where we find the first historical mention. There are seven primary chakras from the base of the spine to the top of the skull, each located just in front of the spine an corresponding to a nerve plexus in the body, as well as an endocrine gland, a human need and a color.

The kind of transformation that happens in each location forms a hierarchy of needs. The activities enabled by the first chakra - Muladhara, or root chakra - are associated with meeting our most basic needs: survival, family, tribe and history. This chakra is located near the base of the spine and i associated with our most basic ability to move through the world, and it’s color is RED. It’s bija mantra is LAM.

Swadisthana (the second chakra), located in front of the sacrum, is associated with creativity and fertility of all kinds and it’s color is ORANGE. It’s bija mantra is VAM.

Manipura (the third chakra), located near the solar plexus, is associated with power, will and contentment and it’s color is YELLOW. It’s bija mantra is RAM.

Anahata (the fourth chakra), located behind the heart, is associated with relationship, love and service and it’s color is GREEN. It’s bija mantra is YAM.

Visshudha (the fifth chakra), located near your vocal cords, is associated with expression, voice and sharing, and it’s color is LIGHT BLUE. It’s bija mantra is HAM.

Ajna (the sixth chakra), located behind the forehead, is associated with personal insight, seeing patterns and clarity and it’s color is DARK BLUE. It’s bija mantra is AUM.

Sahasra (the seventh chakra), located near the crown of the head, is associated wisdom, spirituality and connection to the divine, and it’s color is PURPLE. It’s bija mantra is silence.

Try this fun, easy mantra meditation while imagining wheels of light in the colors mentioned at each location in your body: chant LAM-VAM-RAM-YAM-HAM-AUM seven times through, each syllable taking one breath.








About Christine:

Rather than ascribing to a “flavor” of Hatha yoga practice, I bring 20 years of study and 7 years of teaching experience with an extensive background in anatomy and physiology to every class and every student, tailoring the practice to your needs. I am a Registered Yoga Teacher with the Yoga Alliance. 

As a recently practicing and still licensed Paramedic, I have not only a detailed understanding of the mechanics of body movement and function, but a personal and intimate understanding of how to apply these practices to modify stress responses and mitigate the effects of trauma from both personal and professional experience with myself and others using a combination of steady practice and off-the-mat, in the moment skills.  Read more at

No comments:

Post a Comment